cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Are you interested in hearing how one of our Community members uses Dropbox for sailing trips? Read all about it here.

Create, upload, and share

Find help to solve issues with creating, uploading, and sharing files and folders in Dropbox. Get support and advice from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sync a Shared Dropbox folder to my Mac

Sync a Shared Dropbox folder to my Mac

Byte99
Explorer | Level 4
Go to solution

I'm running the DropBox (DB) desktop app (v172.4.7555) on a 2019 iMac running MacOS Monterey 12.6.5.  Those are the current versions of DB and MacOS.

How do I sync a folder someone has shared with me so that it appears in my Mac's DB folder?

There is a "Copy to Dropbox" option, but that creates a separate copy for me alone, which isn't what I want.

Byte99_0-1682557118807.png

 

 

 

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hannah
Dropbox Staff
Go to solution

Let's answer your questions, @Byte99!

 

For CASE I: You are absolutely correct on your assumption, as for your question, if both of you make changes to your copies and then you click on "copy to Dropbox", a new copy of the updated folder with only Sue's updates will be saved to your Dropbox.

 

For CASE II: Links are "live", so any changes Sue makes to her folder, will reflect on the link, every time you click it.

 

However, every time you click on "copy to Dropbox", new copies of the folder will be saved to your account.

 

Any changes you make to your copies of the folder, do not affect Sue's original folder in any way.

 

And as for CASE III, you're correct as well.

 

I hope this clarifies things!


Hannah
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, give it a Like below to let us know.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Need help with something else? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Find Tips & Tricks Discover more ways to use Dropbox here!
:arrows_counterclockwise: Interested in Community Groups? Click here to join!

View solution in original post

3 Replies 3

Hannah
Dropbox Staff
Go to solution

Hey @Byte99, thanks for reaching out to our Community.

 

The shared link is actually a link that gives you view and download access to the folder.

 

If you want to have edit access to the folder, so that it can be added to your account, the owner of the folder will need to invite you to it.

 

Once you're invited and choose to add the folder to your account, it will automatically sync to your Dropbox folder and any changes you make, will sync for the other members of the folder and vice versa.

 

If you have any questions, let me know!


Hannah
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, give it a Like below to let us know.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Need help with something else? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Find Tips & Tricks Discover more ways to use Dropbox here!
:arrows_counterclockwise: Interested in Community Groups? Click here to join!

Byte99
Explorer | Level 4
Go to solution

Thanks Hannah.  So let me make sure I understand this correctly:

CASE I:  Someone (call her "Sue") sends me a link, and I use "Copy to Dropbox".   This creates a personal Dropbox folder for me alone.  Changes that I make in my folder will have no effect on Sue's folder, and changes that Sue makes on her folder will have no effect on mine -- they are entirely separate.  

Question: What happens if Sue and I each make changes to our respective folders, and I do "Copy to Dropbox" again?  Will this create a new folder mirroring Sue's folder, or will it overwrite my folder with Sue's current version?  

Or does this depend on whether I've kept the name of my version the same -- e.g., if I've kept the same name it will be overwritten, but I've renamed it, then doing this will have no effect on my renamed folder, and will just create a new folder corresponding to Sue's current version.

CASE II: Sue shares a link with me, and gives me View permission:  If Sue makes changes to her folder, they will automatically be reflected in mine.  But if I make changes to my folder, they will have no effect on Sue's.  

Question:  What happens if I edit a document in my folder and save it under a different name?  During the next resync, will it disappear because it's not in Sue's folder?   And what happens if I edit a document in my folder and save it under the same name?

CASE III:  Sue shares a link with me, and gives me Edit permission:  Any changes I make are reflected in Sue's folder, and any changes  Sue makes are reflected in mine.

Hannah
Dropbox Staff
Go to solution

Let's answer your questions, @Byte99!

 

For CASE I: You are absolutely correct on your assumption, as for your question, if both of you make changes to your copies and then you click on "copy to Dropbox", a new copy of the updated folder with only Sue's updates will be saved to your Dropbox.

 

For CASE II: Links are "live", so any changes Sue makes to her folder, will reflect on the link, every time you click it.

 

However, every time you click on "copy to Dropbox", new copies of the folder will be saved to your account.

 

Any changes you make to your copies of the folder, do not affect Sue's original folder in any way.

 

And as for CASE III, you're correct as well.

 

I hope this clarifies things!


Hannah
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, give it a Like below to let us know.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Need help with something else? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Find Tips & Tricks Discover more ways to use Dropbox here!
:arrows_counterclockwise: Interested in Community Groups? Click here to join!

Need more support?
Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

  • User avatar
    Hannah Dropbox Staff
  • User avatar
    Byte99 Explorer | Level 4
What do Dropbox user levels mean?