cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Integrations

Find solutions to issues with third-party integrations from the Dropbox Community. Share advice and help members with their integration questions.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't edit then and SAVE (not save as!) Office documents on Android. Please help.

Can't edit then and SAVE (not save as!) Office documents on Android. Please help.

ExasperatedUser
Explorer | Level 4

I'm not a tech guru, but not a complete newbie either.

I have the standard free Dropbox (140.4.1951) on my Windows 10 laptop (all automatic updates).
Dropbox app on my Samsung S10e (running the latest version 12).

Office app (all in one) on my Samsung.

I also have (as a test just now), the Word standalone app.

TEST 1

I opened the Dropbox app on my phone. I could see all my files. I opened a Word doc using the Office All-In-One app. I made a simple edit. I could not save the edit unless I chose 'Save as'. I didn't want to Save As. I wanted to edit my Word document, save the changes and then open the file on my laptop.

TEST 2

I opened the same Word doc using the standalone Word app. I was asked to login to Dropbox to complete the pairing with Word. To my surprise, the edit option was greyed out.

TEST 3

I opened the same Word doc using the Office All-In-One app. For some reason the edit option which appeared before is now greyed out.

What am I missing? I've searched forums, checked settings, all to no avail. Please help.

6 Replies 6

Walter
Dropbox Staff
Hey @ExasperatedUser, sorry to hear you're having issues with this.

I'm not sure if you're aware, but Dropbox Basic, Plus, and Professional accounts can edit for free, however you'll be asked to sign in with a Microsoft account.