cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
What’s new: end-to-end encryption, Replay and Dash updates. Find out more about these updates, new features and more here.

Storage Space

Looking for help with managing the storage space in your Dropbox account? Talk to the Dropbox Community and get advice from members.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dropbox cache maybe not emptying and I can't find the Dropbox cache folder on Mac

Dropbox cache maybe not emptying and I can't find the Dropbox cache folder on Mac

vrovera
Helpful | Level 6

UPDATE: I rewrote the post as I gathered more information.

I'm a MacBook Pro 2019 user, OS Sonoma 14.2.1.

I don't know where to retrive my Dropbox version, but it should be up to date as I always do updates when prompted.

I suspect my Dropbox cache is overloaded, and I guess it is not emptying itself for some reason. Unfortunately I have no way to verify this, as I can no longer find the cache folder. I tried with the usual Command+Shift+. in order to show hidden files, but I can't see any cache folder in the Dropbox folder, and I can't find it not even using the go-to-folder with the command ~/Dropbox/.dropbox.cache.

Also I can't find any longer the "limit my cache" option anywhere, so I can't test whether putting a limit can solve the problem.

Here are the reasons why I suspect a cache problem.

In the latest days Dropbox continuously reported me the "hard disk is almost full" warning. I have stored no huge files locally recently, but I have downloaded a lot of big files from the internet in the last 15 days or so. I guess a mean value of 10 GB per day. I stored them online only, and I know Dropbox cache should empty automatically after 3 days, so I don't expect these files to take more than a maximum of 30 GB of space (due to cache delay) on my local hard drive.