cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
What’s new: end-to-end encryption, Replay and Dash updates. Find out more about these updates, new features and more here.

View, download, and export

Need support with viewing, downloading, and exporting files and folders from your Dropbox account? Find help from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"Can't load this file type. This file type is unsupported here." when uploading certain filetypes

"Can't load this file type. This file type is unsupported here." when uploading certain filetypes

LB851
New member | Level 2
Go to solution

I am new to Dropbox. I started adding some files and when I clicked on a couple of the files it said "Can't load this file type. This file type is unsupported here." I tried with two different files. They are not typical files as they are from a design software and gcode. Is there a way to save these files in Dropbox and be able to access them? I also need to access them on multiple devices. Is this possible? Reading the features I thought this would work but I didn't know you wouldn't be able to open certain file types. Is there a way to set it up to open the file directly in the program I need to use it in? I am currently using the free plan. Not sure if that makes a difference. Thank you. 

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Rich
Super User II
Go to solution

@LB851 wrote:

... when I clicked on a couple of the files it said "Can't load this file type. This file type is unsupported here."

That just means that Dropbox isn't able to show a preview of the file because it doesn't understand what it is. Only certain files types support previews. You can still store your files in Dropbox and open them in whatever application created them.

I also need to access them on multiple devices. Is this possible?

Yes.