cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Are you interested in hearing how one of our Community members uses Dropbox for sailing trips? Read all about it here.

Create, upload, and share

Find help to solve issues with creating, uploading, and sharing files and folders in Dropbox. Get support and advice from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to remove the share from a Share file?

How to remove the share from a Share file?

Adarsh Anand
New member | Level 2
Go to solution

Hello, I recently shared an audio file with someone through Dropbox. I deleted the share since it was no longer the correct information. I was wondering if they will still retain a copy of the file on their side. I want to make sure they don't have a copy but I have no way to make sure of that. Can you help me?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Megan
Dropbox Staff
Go to solution

Hi @Adarsh Anand, essentially if they decided to download the contents of the link, before it was disabled, then they should have the copy.

 

If, however they didn't, then they would no longer have access to the shared link, in order to download the file. 


Megan
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, give it a Like below to let us know.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Need help with something else? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Find Tips & Tricks Discover more ways to use Dropbox here!
:arrows_counterclockwise: Interested in Community Groups? Click here to join!

View solution in original post

4 Replies 4

Megan
Dropbox Staff
Go to solution

Hi @Adarsh Anand, let's jump right into this! 

 

Did you share the file through a shared link, or directly with them? When removing someone, from a shared file that member loses access to the folder and all the files it contains. 

 

I'm going to quote this Help Center article, and say that: If the member you'd like to remove already downloaded the file or saved it to their Dropbox account, they will still have their copy of the file even if you unshare with them or delete a shared link. 

 

However, they wouldn't be able to find a copy, and download files, after their removal from it. 

 

I hope this clarifies!


Megan
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, give it a Like below to let us know.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Need help with something else? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Find Tips & Tricks Discover more ways to use Dropbox here!
:arrows_counterclockwise: Interested in Community Groups? Click here to join!

Adarsh Anand
New member | Level 2
Go to solution
Hello Megan, It was a shared link. The file was too big and Dropbox gave me the option to share it with them via an email link. Based on your response, I am guessing that it is up to the other then, on whether they keep the file or delete it; since it sounds like they now have a copy of the file.

Megan
Dropbox Staff
Go to solution

Hi @Adarsh Anand, essentially if they decided to download the contents of the link, before it was disabled, then they should have the copy.

 

If, however they didn't, then they would no longer have access to the shared link, in order to download the file. 


Megan
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, give it a Like below to let us know.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Need help with something else? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Find Tips & Tricks Discover more ways to use Dropbox here!
:arrows_counterclockwise: Interested in Community Groups? Click here to join!

Adarsh Anand
New member | Level 2
Go to solution
Thank you. That is what I wanted to figure out.
Need more support?
Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

  • User avatar
    Adarsh Anand New member | Level 2
  • User avatar
    Megan Dropbox Staff
What do Dropbox user levels mean?