cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Want to learn some quick and useful tips to make your day easier? Check out how Calvin uses Replay to get feedback from other teams at Dropbox here.

Create, upload, and share

Find help to solve issues with creating, uploading, and sharing files and folders in Dropbox. Get support and advice from the Dropbox Community.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow Upload Speeds

Slow Upload Speeds

RogueXLR
Explorer | Level 4

I am experiencing very slow upload speeds even though I have recently upgraded by internet connection (100mbs down and 40mbs up). I am a videographer who needs to upload gigabytes worth of footage online after every shoot and dropbox isn't even coming close to saturating my provided internet speed. Below is a list of what I have tried to no avail. Bear in mind that I do not have these upload speed issues with Google drive. 

- Restarted system and dropbox app multiple times

- Disconnected and reconnected internet connection (both wifi and physical ethernet cable)

- Uninstalled and reinstalled dropbox app on Windows 10

- Tried uploading directly to dropbox via website 

- Tried uploading in different browsers, private tabs and different computers with no success

- Clearing both dropbox app cache and browser cache

- Tried adjusting bandwith settings in desktop app 

- Tried restarting router

I haven't had issues with dropbox upload speeds up until the past few weeks so something has clearly changed on Dropbox's side and not sure what is going on. 

20 Replies 20

Hannah
Dropbox Staff

Hey @RogueXLR, thanks for bringing this to our attention.

Generally, syncing is a more complicated process than just transferring data.

Each file is divided and compressed into hashed components, transferred via secure data transfer, and then encrypted and stored on our servers.