cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Are you interested in hearing how one of our Community members uses Dropbox for sailing trips? Read all about it here.

Dropbox ideas

Got an idea for Dropbox? We want to hear it. Our team will review the top voted ideas, so share them here!

Got an idea for Dropbox? We want to hear it. Our team will review the top voted ideas, so share them here!

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Option to disable delete confirmation popup when deleting online-only files from desktop

Option to disable delete confirmation popup when deleting online-only files from desktop

grimhike
Helpful | Level 6

When deleting "online-only" files or folders, I got asked for confirmation with a pop up, but there is no "do not show this next time" checkbox. 

I know what I'm doing when I delete files and I don't need Dropbox to babysit me. 

How can I make that popup go away forever? 

Latest Update
Megan
Dropbox Staff
This idea has been closed as it has reached the end of the Share an Idea process.
 
Thank you for your suggestion, and if you have another idea to share, please do! 
Status changed to: Closed
39 Comments
Walter
Dropbox Staff

Hey @grimhike; thanks for posting your thoughts about this!

 

This idea is going to need a bit more support before we can share your suggestion with the team. 
 
I have updated the status to encourage more users to back you up! 
Status changed to: Gathering Support
fcktsht
Helpful | Level 6

I see this issue still hasn't been addressed. The delete prompt is infuriatingly obnoxious and can't be difficult to turn off. What gives?

Walter
Dropbox Staff

Thank you for your idea, while we can’t take every idea forward we do regularly re-review and will update you if anything changes!

Status changed to: Not for right now
paulenglishby
New member | Level 2

 

I'm also tired of Dropbox of treating me like I'm an idiot. Good to see they don't actually care about this and instead reply with generic copy/paste support messages to dismiss the idea. At least there's consistency, the software treats you like you're an idiot so the support team does too.

SLPR
Explorer | Level 3

Nearly every time I delete a folder (which is often), I get a popup asking for confirmation.

 

"This folder will be deleted from your DropBox account.

Because it has online-only files, it won't be moved to your Recycle Bin, but recently deleted files can be restored on dropbox.com."

 

I never want to see this dialog again. Add a checkbox for those of us who do not need this message to be able to turn it off. Or add the option in Notification settings. I'm sure a lot of people would appreciate it.

SamwiseTheGreat
Explorer | Level 3

I'd also like to SUPER-VOTE for this. It's ridiculous that there isn't an option to disable this nonsense.

KyleYoungblom
New member | Level 2

Casting another vote for this. Feels like an extremely user-hostile pattern and I'm honestly amazed there's no "don't ask me again" option.

Kaizeler
New member | Level 2

How much more support does this need?

SamwiseTheGreat
Explorer | Level 3

Hi,

Just reporting that this is still an enormous pain in the backside. Looking forward to this "feature" being "fixed".

Speedysystems
Helpful | Level 5

please stop this

 

 

"This folder will be deleted from your DropBox account.

Because it has online-only files, it won't be moved to your Recycle Bin, but recently deleted files can be restored on dropbox.com."

Vote for this idea

Like this idea? Vote for it and we will give it the attention it deserves!

27 votes received Status: Closed