cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Our new Dropbox updates make your online life easier. See how you can store online-only files, edit photos in Dropbox and annotate PDFs with these updates.

Security and Permissions

Start a discussion in the Dropbox Community forum to get help with your account security and permissions. Find support from Community members.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can I go back to my personal account after accidentally joining a Business team?

How can I go back to my personal account after accidentally joining a Business team?

Keki
Explorer | Level 4

My account was recently switched from a personal account to a business account. The business account owner/admin emailed me a file. Upon receiving the file, I was unaware that my account would be converted/merged to the acct owner's account and that I would become a "team member". I would like to covert my account back to a personal account with no other members having access to my files and leave the business account. Please help. Thanks

8 Replies 8

Re: How can I go back to my personal account after accidentally joining a Business team?

Hannah
Dropboxer
Hey @Keki, welcome to the Dropbox Community!

If you joined a Dropbox Business team, the admin will need to remove you from it, so that you can go back to your personal account.

They will need to remove you by converting your account to an individual Dropbox Basic account. 

That way, you'll lose access to the team content, but keep your account and your personal files. 

Let me know if you have any questions.

Hannah
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, give it a Like below to let us know.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Need help with something else? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Find Tips & Tricks Discover more ways to use Dropbox here!

Paper docs missing after account change from free to business

ohainey
New member | Level 2

I received an invitation to a business account, and I accidentally merged my personal account with that business account.  I have a share link to  3 of the docs that were starred, I tested them, and the files are not deleted.

i can view the 3 documents but even those it is showing me as the owner it says. "You don’t have permission to access this doc".

 

I would like to unmerge my personal and new business team account and reinstate my personal account with all my old files including all my paper files, which I had over 50 docs. 

 

How do I go about doing that?   thanks 

Re: Paper docs missing after account change from free to business

Megan
Dropboxer

Hi @ohainey, welcome to our Community! 

 

In order for this to happen, you'd need to contact the admin of the team, and ask them to re-instate and convert your account back as a Basic plan. 

 

As for the error when trying to access your Paper files, is it possible that their permissions were changed? 

 

Keep me posted. 


Megan
Community Moderator @ Dropbox
dropbox.com/support


Heart Did this post help you? If so, give it a Like below to let us know.
:arrows_counterclockwise: Need help with something else? Ask me a question!
:pushpin: Find Tips & Tricks Discover more ways to use Dropbox here!

Re: How can I go back to my personal account after accidentally joining a Business team?

rolfsonhailee
New member | Level 2

When your team's admin converts your account back to an individual account, you, as a team member, get to keep all shared files and folders you had access to before joining the team, as well as any private files. cookie clicker

If you're out of quota at the time, synchronization will cease if your files exceed the free Basic plan's allocation of 2GB of storage, at which point you'll need to upgrade to the Plus plan to resume syncing. There will be no file deletions.

Lost my account

soundboy
New member | Level 2

I had my own account, and then I was invited to join someone else's account (someone I was working with). I clicked on join and I got an email that my account payment was being refunded, and I was now a member of this other account. All my shared folders are now on their account, they are the admin, and I'm just a member. How do I get my own account back, and get off theirs?

Re: Lost my account

Rich
Super User II

@soundboy wrote:

I had my own account, and then I was invited to join someone else's account (someone I was working with). ... How do I get my own account back, and get off theirs?


When you joined their team you merged your account into their team account, effectively making them the owner of your account. In order to leave the team, the team admin needs to convert your account back to an individual account. It's important that they don't just remove you from the team as doing so would delete your account. If that were to happen, the team admin only has seven days to restore your account.

 

Note that only the team admin can accomplish this. There's no way for you or even Dropbox to do it. It must be completed by the team admin.

Files Transferred to Another User

DLM3205
New member | Level 2
A colleague of mine who is now retired did some work and needed to send me the photos he took. He had never used Dropbox before and couldn’t figure out how to put the files in the folder I shared with him. His wife sent me a link but still no files. She sent another link and I was asked by Dropbox if I wanted to join. I clicked yes. Now my entire Dropbox is off my computer and in HIS Dropbox. I can see and access my files but they are under his account and he’s listed as the administrator. How do I get my stuff back and not have him as administrator? Thanks in advance.

Re: Files Transferred to Another User

Rich
Super User II

@DLM3205 wrote:
She sent another link and I was asked by Dropbox if I wanted to join. I clicked yes. Now my entire Dropbox is off my computer and in HIS Dropbox.

You were sent an invitation to join his Business account, and by accepting the invitation you merged your account into his team account, effectively making him the owner of your account. In order to leave the team, the team admin needs to convert your account back to an individual account. It's important that he doesn't just remove you from the team as doing so would delete your account. If that were to happen, the team admin only has seven days to restore your account.

 

In addition, if you were previously on a paid plan, your subscription would have been canceled and you would have received a prorated refund for the time remaining on your account. If that's the case, when your account is converted you'll need to resubscribe.

Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

  • User avatar
    Rich Super User II
  • User avatar
    DLM3205 New member | Level 2
  • User avatar
    soundboy New member | Level 2
  • User avatar
    rolfsonhailee New member | Level 2
What do Dropbox user levels mean?
Need more support?