cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Are you interested in hearing how one of our Community members uses Dropbox for sailing trips? Read all about it here.

Plans and Subscriptions

Ask the Dropbox Community for help if you have questions about your Dropbox plan or subscription. Find solutions and share advice with members.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I meant to join my friend's Account. But I accidentally moved all my files to his account.

I meant to join my friend's Account. But I accidentally moved all my files to his account.

Danny Schlitz
New member | Level 2
Go to solution

I meant to join my friend's Account. But I accidentally moved all my files to his account. I clicked the button too quickly and should have read further to realize that I didn't want  to move my files.

Then I received an email from Dropbox saying my business account was closed and that I was refunded for my account. 

So now my files are now sitting in his account.

 

I have no idea how to undo this since it seems like my old business account is now closed. I have tried just setting up a NEW account, so I can move my files to it, but it keeps logging me into his dropbox files.

 

How do I start a NEW DROPBOX?

 

Thanks for your help!

 

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Rich
Super User II
Go to solution

@Danny Schlitz wrote:

I meant to join my friend's Account. But I accidentally moved all my files to his account. ... Then I received an email from Dropbox saying my business account was closed and that I was refunded for my account.


It sounds like you were invited to and joined their Business account. When doing so, you merged your account into their team account, effectively making them the owner of your account. In order to leave the team, the team admin needs to convert your account back to an individual account. It's important that they don't just remove you from the team as doing so would delete your account. If that were to happen, the team admin only has seven days to restore your account.

View solution in original post

2 Replies 2

Rich
Super User II
Go to solution

@Danny Schlitz wrote:

I meant to join my friend's Account. But I accidentally moved all my files to his account. ... Then I received an email from Dropbox saying my business account was closed and that I was refunded for my account.


It sounds like you were invited to and joined their Business account. When doing so, you merged your account into their team account, effectively making them the owner of your account. In order to leave the team, the team admin needs to convert your account back to an individual account. It's important that they don't just remove you from the team as doing so would delete your account. If that were to happen, the team admin only has seven days to restore your account.

Danny Schlitz
New member | Level 2
Go to solution

Thank you! This is going to help me a ton! Appreciate the help

Need more support?
Who's talking

Top contributors to this post

  • User avatar
    Danny Schlitz New member | Level 2
  • User avatar
    Rich Super User II
What do Dropbox user levels mean?